When Should I Consider Bankruptcy In a Divorce

Financial issues in a divorce can be tricky; add in the question of whether or not to file bankruptcy and it can become even more complex. Take an inventory of your marital assets and liabilities and use this checklist to determine if bankruptcy is something you should bring up to your attorney.

If you check more than four statements, you should consider discussing bankruptcy with your attorney.

  • As a couple, we are struggling to pay bills.
  • After the divorce, I will not be able to pay my credit card bills, car payment, or mortgage.
  • I/We are already behind on our house payment.
  • I/We are already behind on our credit card payments.
  • I/We are already behind on our car payments.
  • I/We have state or federal tax debts from previous years.
  • I/We have property tax or other liens against our home.
  • I/We have been receiving calls from creditors.
  • I/We have a Notice of Foreclosure on our home.

Excerpt from The Nevada Divorce Guide: 21 Actions You Must Take Now to Protect Yourself Your Interests and Your Assets During Divorce. Available at Sundance Bookstore in Reno, NV, or by request at info@petronilaw.com.

 

Responses are for general information purposes only. A consultation with an attorney experienced in the area of law(s) is highly recommended. Information and advice given here should not be relied upon for any final action or decision, as the information is limited by its nature

Leave a comment